Open Prose Selection: Erik Anderson's Estranger

After a winter of thrilling reading we’re excited to announce the third selection in the Open Prose Series, Erik Anderson’s Estranger, which will be published by Rescue Press in 2016.

Estranger begins with a memoirist’s problem—the suppressed story of a grandfather’s death on the south side of Chicago in 1984—but Estranger is no memoir. Estranger reexamines and reinvents genre, as one family’s story enters an intricate constellation of subjects: animal intelligence, museum architecture, films by Werner Herzog and Michael Haneke and Hou Hsiao Hsien, Camus’ The Stranger, Thoreau’s journals, the work of artists Kara Walker and Cy Twombley. In the tradition of writers such as W.G. Sebald, Michael Ondaatje, and Rebecca Solnit, Erik Anderson’s second book blends essay and invention into an exploration of vulnerability and detachment, a book that pushes against the limits of both everyday thought and literary form. The result is a work of restless, precise intelligence and disquieting originality.

Erik Anderson is the author of a book of lyric essays, The Poetics of Trespass (Otis Books/Seismicity Editions, 2010). He teaches creative writing at Franklin & Marshall College where he directs the annual Emerging Writers Festival. You can read some of Erik’s work at Witness, Something on Paper3:AM Magazine, and the Los Angeles Review of Books.

Thank you to all those who shared their manuscripts with us this year—it continues to be an honor to read your prose.

Hilary Plum & Zach Savich
Editors, Open Prose Series

CALL FOR SUBMISSIONS: OPEN PROSE SERIES

This winter Rescue Press will consider book-length prose submissions for our Open Prose Series, which publishes one work a year of nonfiction, fiction, or sui generis prose. The series aims to support singular prose works and the wider discussion of contemporary literary prose; the first book in the series, Anne Germanacos's Tribute, will be released in spring 2014 (see below). We invite you to submit a manuscript to our open reading period between January 1 and January 31, 2014. All submissions will be reviewed by series editors Hilary Plum and Zach Savich, who will work with the editors of Rescue Press to select a manuscript for publication. We expect to make a decision by April 2014. Please send submissions to rescueopenprose [at] gmail [dot] com along with a biographical note and a brief statement about your work. Manuscripts should be sent as .pdf, .doc, .docx, or .rtf attachments. Participants have the option to submit a reading fee via this Paypal link; donations of any amount are appreciated and go toward publishing the selected manuscript. There are no restrictions on who may submit.

***

2671 Anne Germanacos LO RES copyTribute by Anne Germanacos forthcoming, spring 2014

In her masterful second book, Anne Germanacos gets right down to the elemental: the single line. Tribute is a work of prose—novel, essay, experiment in narrative?—created from distinct lines, a work of continual shape-shift and exhilarating motion. Tribute chronicles the daily life of a woman whose mother is dying and who begins to see a psychoanalyst, a woman who lives among lovers, sisters, and children, across continents and their conflicts (New York, San Francisco, Crete, Cyprus, Israel/Palestine). The book that results offers us both her story—forcefully sensual, vibrantly lived—and, through its bold form, her complex relationship to story.

Germanacos's restless relationship to form is born of that most essential restlessness: desire. In Tribute she documents desire's manifold incarnations, the body's and the mind's; she pays beautiful tribute to the force of desire and to those who have been bold enough to try to comprehend it—gentle echoes remind us of H.D. and her Freud. In the tradition of Clarice Lispector, David Markson, and Marguerite Duras, Tribute takes us deep into the borderlands where fiction and nonfiction meet. The first book in Rescue Press's new series of innovative prose, this is a work of profound ambition and rare urgency.

Anne Germanacos is the author of the short-story collection In the Time of the Girls (BOA Editions, 2010). Together with her husband, Nick Germanacos, she ran the Ithaka Cultural Studies Program on the islands of Kalymnos and Crete. She now runs the Germanacos Foundation in San Francisco.

To request a review copy, please email rescuepress [at] gmail [dot] com.

Read an excerpt in the Kenyon Review Online!

Advance praise for Tribute:

"What can language do to resolve grief, to forge or release intimacy? In Tribute, Anne Germanacos responds to these mysteries by scouring and saving lit moments, phrases, and scraps. Far from being an act of withholding or willful sketchiness, Tribute is a passionate erasure back to bone. Reading, one experiences the need to stop and look up-as if encountering in a poem a particularly deft use of space which isolates and frames a moment for lavishing. It could take years to read this book, or an afternoon—either would be right—depending on your capacity for the flash-wisdom of aphorism and the pace at which you take your shots of insight." —Lia Purpura

"Anne Germanacos writes with wit and passion: she is a modern metaphysical poet. Her one-line fragments, discrete and connected, probe the desires and terrors of her embodied existence. Her words move us inward to our own most vital and painful zones. A rigorous, resonant voice." —Avivah Zornberg

"Anne Germanacos's Tribute is like nothing I have ever read before. A novel in poetic form, prose poetry, or her own invented style, this is an amazing, original and captivating read. Taking off from HD's (the poet Hilda Doolittle) Tribute to Freud Germanacos deals with the narrator's experience of psychoanalysis, her dying mother, love, sexuality, dreams and much more. Like the mystical-spiritual HD, presenting analysis and the other topics in this poetic form seems just right. Each evocative, impressionistic line can be unpacked by the reader in a variety of ways, making for a uniquely rich experience." —Louis Breger

"A kaleidoscope that can well hold a reader securely while containing a soul." —Robert Wallerstein

"A master of silence and the subtle pass, Germanacos builds her absorbing and seductive narratives from a thousand fragments. Her paradoxes—intimate, edgy, and luminous—tease us through a maze of reflections on mothers and daughters, Freud, sex and desire, and politics. 'What is it that writing does to a life?' Tribute is her answer: it gives it meaning." —Askold Melnyczuk

Open Prose Series: Anne Germanacos

Rescue Press is thrilled to announce that the editors of our Open Prose Series, Hilary Plum and Zach Savich, have selected Anne Germanacos' book-length prose manuscript TRIBUTE for publication in Spring 2014.    Anne Germanacos’ work has appeared in many literary journals and anthologies. Her collection of short stories, In the Time of the Girls, was published by BOA Editions. She and her husband live in San Francisco and on Crete.

Congratulations to Anne and thank you to all who sent in manuscripts of fiction, nonfiction, and electric prose!

Open Prose Series

This winter Rescue Press will consider book-length prose submissions for our new Open Prose Series, which will publish one work a year of nonfiction, fiction, or sui generis prose. open prose dancers

This series will support singular prose works and the wider discussion of contemporary literary prose. We invite you to submit a manuscript to our open reading period between January 1 and January 31, 2013. There is no fee for submission nor are there restrictions on who may submit. All submissions will be reviewed by series editors Hilary Plum and Zach Savich, who will work with the editors of Rescue Press to select a manuscript for publication. We expect to make a decision by April 2013.

Please send submissions to rescueopenprose@gmail.com along with a biographical note and a brief statement about your work. Manuscripts should be sent as .pdf, .doc, .docx, or .rtf attachments.